Tieanna Graphenreed

Cheers to New Beginnings.

Today, I used my lunch break to attend Senior Toast at the Clocktower on main campus. It wasn’t until President Markwood began congratulating our class, and we raised our glasses in a toast, that it sunk in…I am nearly finished as an undergraduate! Now, as I see plans falling into place, I recognize that these treasured little moments make the hard work all the more worthwhile.

This week at RiverCenter, we finished preparations for the Marquee Society member appreciation dinner, which we hosted Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in Bill Heard Theatre. The “Southern Charm” themed event was an extravagant and elegant affair, featuring a catered dinner, bluegrass band, and an appearance from Georgia Council of the Arts Executive Director Karen Paty. At the event, we recognized all Marquee Society members, with special recognition to The Honorable Calvin Smyre for his contributions to RiverCenter and the arts in Columbus.

Though this is my final intern journal for Columbus State University, I was offered the chance to continue my journey at RiverCenter throughout the summer. I intend to stay on as Advancement Assistant until August, at which point I will move to Auburn, AL and attend Auburn University, where I will pursue a Masters in Technical and Professional Communication, and serve as a Graduate Teaching Assistant in The College of Liberal Arts.

While both opportunities were unexpected, I’m excited to see where this path takes me. I’m thankful to be a part of the amazing organization that is RiverCenter, Inc. and for the endless encouragement and support to advance my education from Advancement Director Lauren Minter and my coworkers. The skills I gained in these short months will benefit me for a lifetime.

Thank you RiverCenter, Columbus State University, and the countless other organizations and individuals who played an influential role in the woman I am today. Cheers to you.

Leave a Reply

