Madison Ullman

Working Through Chaos

Monday morning was crazy. I took a week off to travel for spring break, and I was nervous I might be a little rusty on working audio. I only work audio on Mondays, to begin with, so I was concerned I might have forgotten some things. Diego and I planned on having me run sound for the 5 a.m. and 7 a.m. shows like usual, but then our systems went down. The program we use to stack the show and input the videos into the TriCaster would not connect to the TriCaster. None of the videos would appear in the TriCaster at first. Then, we were missing the headlines. The producer was running around sending emails over to master control, so he could roll videos when we needed them. However, when packages come from master control the audio comes out of a different channel. Since there were so much chaos and confusion over how we were going to put out a newscast with our systems malfunctioning, Diego took over the 5 a.m. and 6 a.m. newscasts. Luckily by the time for the 7 a.m. show, everyone had fallen into a routine, and I felt more confident I could run audio. It was really interesting to see how the production team problem solved in the moment of a live broadcast. Tensions were high at times, but in the end, everyone had to work as a unit so that the show could go on.

Leave a Reply

