Madison Ullman

Directions on Directing

For a few weeks now, Vince has been telling me he wants me to direct a segment. This past week, he finally let me do it. During the 10 p.m. show, Vince had me punch the sports block and the E block of the show. Instead of having me read off the script, Vince told me what to punch and when to punch it. This was very similar to when Nicole would allow me to punch the 7 a.m. broadcast. The difference is, the night shows have grater viewership. Vince told me that next week, he’s not going to tell me when to punch or what to punch. Instead, I’ll have to read off the script and follow the prompter to know what needs to be in preview, and when I need to punch something up. I am a little nervous about having to follow the script, but I know I need to learn how to do it.

Other than directing, Producer Christy had me clip my first package for a show. I helped her edit a package about teens in Atlanta raising awareness over human trafficking. She also had me download and clip another package on Trump’s healthcare plans on my own. It was exciting to see a video I helped prepare for air be broadcasted.

Leave a Reply

