Madison Ullman

In Three. Two. One. Let’s Intern.

I am so excited to be interning for WLTZ NBC 38. I know most people who intern here are looking to get experience as journalists or reporters, but that’s just not my style. I like the behind the scenes work: the technical and production side of things. Luckily, this internship is going to allow me to see how all the gears work together to produce what gets broadcasted. So far, I have learned how to create over the shoulder shots (OTS) using Adobe After Effects, how to build moving maps using Google Earth, how to produce full-screen shots (FS) using Final Cut Pro, and have been shown how both the master control board and the soundboard function.  I have even been allowed to produce some of the graphics and images used in their broadcasts, as well as been able to run sound for one of their 30-minute early morning shows. Each day presents new challenges, but I am always hungry and eager to learn more.

Leave a Reply

