Nikki Pham

Week 3: Five Seconds In The Spotlight

            This week I practiced on writing more scripts, which the anchor has been using for the 6 p.m. and 11 p.m. news. The major difference between this week and week two is that the anchor made no changes to my scripts. She read them as is, which was a huge accomplishment on my part. I thought my week could not get better. I was wrong. On Friday, it was a typical day with sports reporter Jenna Callari. We were to go live for the 6pm news. When I got to the news station, the weather system was down so the meteorologist, Matt, had to resort to drawn images on poster boards. Lucky me, I was in the right place at the right time and Matt needed me to step in and help him hold the weather. So I had my five-second cameo. Then when they ended the show, Jenna and Matt had me sit in the newly wrapped news car with the weatherboard hanging out of the car—another five-second cameo. They even mention my name as intern Nikki. Later that night at the 11 p.m. news, Matt had me hold some more signs for the prerecorded weather for Saturday’s news. In total, I gave four five-second cameos. How can I complain? Coming up next week, I will be editing videos for the scripts that I write. I cannot wait to start!

Leave a Reply

