Louis Sanville

Internship Blog #12

Today is the day. WCUG has become an official radio station as of three days ago. It was a big occasion for everyone at the communication department. Everyone is excited for all the great things that the station was going to do for the school.

On that day, I came to the station a little later than I planned. I decided to skip Dr. Humphrey’s class for the occasion (he would let class out early, anyway). I went into the station to see a bunch of people hanging out within the lobby. I think Chik-Fil-A and Golden Doughnuts was catering for the staff. I went to Ms. Scott to find the polo shirt that I ordered, and hung out with the crew until the launch began. The ceremony didn’t have a huge show-out, but it was a great experience. It didn’t last as long as I thought it would, which was great, because I had a class to get to. It was great to be a part of something like that. To say that you contributed to the rise of a radio station is very humbling.

Reflecting on the things that I’ve done for the station over the semester, I’d say that the launch was a definite highlight. I have learned and experienced so much at the station. These are tools that I’m going to need as I become more experienced in the radio broadcast industry. As always, I hope to continue my progress and education on the broadcasting industry, using my experience in WCUG.

Leave a Reply

