Amita Lee

Grant Season

When I started thin internship, I had no clue how important grants are to non-profits. I didn’t know where the money came from, but I knew it came. Through this Internship process, I have learned a lot about the importance of Grants. In the last week we received a grant for our work and have had several people/organizations show interest in Ferst. I don’t think I have felt this much pressure in making something as I do for out big presentation this month. Normally I am ok with talking to people and being social, but I think that there is a lot more pressure in doing this. Hopefully we come out of April with all of the grants and support we have had the past year. I think that this year has been a great one for Ferst and I hope that this month brings more and more success.

I am also hoping to recruit a new intern. I thought that I would be ready to go when it got close to the time that I have to move on, but I am nervous. I think that it is easier to think about leaving an internship like this than it is to leave. I hope that this month brings the right person for Ferst and that this internship becomes a gift to someone else in their college career. I was blessed in having Devin come before me. She was amazing at her job and she worked to build the internship to what it is, I hope that I have lived up to what she has done and kept the internship going. Hopefully my successor will love it too.

Untitledu

Leave a Reply

