Courtney Napier

Interning at the Chamber

It’s been such an eventful two weeks since my last post. I didn’t have the traditional college Spring Break; I worked mostly, but I didn’t mind it at all. At the Chamber we are still pushing our TRC campaign, trying to bring in as many memberships and renewals before it ends. It’s exciting for me because I love seeing and meeting all the new faces. We had a successful event on St. Patty’s Day. YP hosted a Beer and Wine Tasting at the Loft on Broadway, downtown. There was lots of food, drinks, and company! The week before we had an event with speaker Betsy Covington called Cocktails & Company. I wasn’t able to attend this event because I was at the Legacy Banquet, which was so amazing (might I add)! I of course still helped with preparations for the event, though.

Other than event planning and prep, there’s been the usual business. I’ve recently been trained on front desk/receptionist relief, which is basically where our receptionist goes on lunch and we take turns doing her job until she gets back. Usually, during lunch people don’t bother the phones (or so they say). However whenever I’m at the front desk I always get the most interesting and frankly annoying calls. This old lady had me searching for this article in a newspaper for the longest because she couldn’t remember and she was getting so frustrated even though she was intruding on my day when she could’ve just went back though the newspaper to find out what she was doing. I was trying to be as helpful as I could though, so I put up with it until she hung up in my face. And I am certain I get the most calls during lunch, even if everyone else says their relief days are pretty peaceful. Needless to say I don’t look forward to front desk relief. I don’t really like being at my desk at all actually, I much rather prefer doing the several jobs I’m given at events and throughout the day which require me to actually run around getting tasks done. And even though as intern I do all kinds of odd and sometimes non-relating tasks, everyone at the Chamber is always so appreciative and it makes it all just that much better. I am working on recruiting memberships myself (although it’s not required or even asked). It’s sort of competitive for members and employees to bring in new memberships and I love a little healthy competition, so why not. This is the last day of my not so Spring Break and I’ve got senioritis so bad I’m not even ready, so this ends my post.

Until next time,

The Intern

Leave a Reply

