Louis Sanville

Internship Blog #6

“Did I miss some sort of memo?” That was my first thought when I came to WCUG this past Friday. As per usual, I went up to the radio station to begin another hour of work constructing the Oldies playlist. I should have completed it by now, but it’s hard to construct a playlist that people could enjoy. Plus, I always thought that there was a certain science to a great playlist. Anyway, I was walking towards the station when I saw through the windows a lone man. He was a mechanic working on the system. Assuming that my boss Oso wasn’t there at the moment, I decided to go into Dillingham until she came. Small time past before I checked again to see the same mechanic working on the equipment. The aforementioned thought came to me soon after.

I wanted know what was going on. So, I decided to send an email to her about the day, hoping to get a reply sooner. More time past before I went back to the station. This time, I ran into one of the interns who was trying to record her vocals for liners. Without having much experience with the mixing board, I tried to at least figure it out with her. We end up calling Tip, the station’s production manager, to help us. He told us to see if Scott, the station’s supervisor, was in his office. As the intern went to get him, I asked about Oso. I learned that she had an asthma attack and had to go to the emergency room. After 3 minutes, Scott came into the station and fixed the problem, which was minor. We thanked him for his help as he walked away, and I took it as an opportunity to get some work done. So, I brought my stuff from Dillingham and worked on the track list for an hour before leaving the station.

This situation reminds me of how much more learning I need to do before the semester is over. Knowing what to accomplish when your boss is gone is important in any position or profession. These are tools that I’m going to need as I become more experienced in the radio broadcast industry. As always, I hope to continue my progress and education on the broadcasting industry, using my experience in WCUG.

Leave a comment