Krystal Ketcham

image

Life of an Intern 

Overwhelming. My first day at WTVM was simply Overwhelming.  I felt like a child on the first day of school. I had no clue what to expect. As I drove to the station, so many questions raced through my mind. The question I pondered on the most was, do I really want to be a reporter?

I want a career that is fulfilling and exciting. I’m an avid believer that the most fulfilling endeavor in life is to find your purpose and live each and every day doing it. My career shouldn’t be a job it should be my purpose.

When I walked in the building, I was greeted by the web content manger. Her demeanor was friendly and inviting. At that point my confidence level sky rocketed. That came to a halt quickly, as soon as I sat down, I was immediately bombarded with paperwork and test. Yes, my first day as an intern I had to take a test. If it were a graded test I would’ve failed with flying colors. The last page of the test was a list of names. By each name I was expected to write the persons occupation. Luckily, Fredrick Douglas, Nat Turner and Hilary Clinton were names I was familiar with. The name Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta completely flew over my head. Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta is Lady Gaga, who knew?  Let’s just say, after that test Google became my best friend.

            Overall my first day at WTVM was overwhelming yet informative. Hopefully, the remainder of my time at WTVM excludes test. 

Leave a Reply

