Krystal Ketcham

image-1

Money Vs. Free 

“How do you know if a career is right for you,” was the question I asked Roslyn Giles. She hesitated for a second then said, “when you’ll do it for free.” After what I had experienced, I don’t know if I would do it for a paycheck.

            For days the conversation I had with Roslyn replayed in my head. I thought to myself, “could I do this for free?” Till this day, I still don’t know the answer.

            On this day we covered a story I will never forget. A young man, father of two, was killed after a bar fight. Roslyn and I went to the young man’s home to get his family’s reaction. Seeing his family’s reaction gave me insight of his character. In every room of the house was a family member grieving. I thought to myself, “I don’t want to be here!”  

            That day I realized being a reporter isn’t glamorous. At times you have to put yourself in uncomfortable situations. A reporter’s job is to tell a story regardless of the circumstances. 

Leave a Reply

