Courtney Napier

This week was an eventful one, not just at my internship but at the Lagrant Foundation’s Aflac workshop. The Lagrant Foundation gives scholarships and provides resources for minority students pursuing careers in Public Relations, Communications, and Marketing. Our entire department was invited, but only a handful of us actually seized the opportunity and I’m glad I did! I had an amazing time. I promise this is relevant.

On with the beginning of my week. At the Chamber we were in preparation of the first Young Professionals Exec. Board Meeting of the year. So I was making tent cards, creating the agenda, amidst my other intern duties. The meeting was Wednesday and they mostly discussed updates from the heads of committees on how meetings were going and attendance at each meetings, future events, and other important things. There are 5 committees in YP: Governmental Affairs, Social Engagement, Career and Talent Development, Leadership Enrichment, and Servant Leadership. Those who were in attendance at the meeting were the heads of each of these committees (they are considered the board at large), the Board, which makes up the Chair, Kat Cannela, and VP’s. I got to sit in on the meeting which was exciting, and also I met members of the Executive Board that I had not met yet (putting names with faces and all that). I even got to make suggestions when the floor opened up!! It was amazing getting to be around some of Columbus’ most influential young professionals. This brings me to the Aflac workshop where I saw the former Chair of YP, William Morgan, who works at Aflac. He recognized me and it was nice to see a familiar face in a room full of potential employers (fingers crossed) and students from different schools. At the workshop I thought “wow, this is what it’s all about…networking, making connections, learning from those who came before you and carrying the torch”. Nothing I say can truly explain the high I was on this week getting to have one-on-one conversations with the VP of Marketing, the Senior Manager of PR, and other top people at Aflac. It was certainly an experience. I gained so much knowledge and even got goodies from Aflac. My favorite is my Aflac graduation duck. But that’s all I have for now, until next week.

The Ardent Intern.

image1

Leave a Reply

