Internship blog Week One

By: Eric Nicey

This week being my second week with my internship, The Columbus Times, I learned a lot of things about the newspaper in general. I discovered that the newspaper was previously owned by Dr. Ophelia DeVore-Mitchel, who was one of the first African American/minority women to enter into high fashion modeling in the 1940s. The newspaper was passed down to her daughter, Carol Gertjegerdes, who now runs it and appointed me my internship there. Some do not know, but The Columbus Times has been publishing positive and uplifting stories about minorities for over 30 years. This week and last week I have and will have the honor of doing stories on Dr. Ophelia DeVore-Mitchell. I also passed out a couple of Columbus Times newspapers to my hometown high school, Dooly County High School, that promoted positivity of African Americans within it.

Leave a Reply

