Editing, Editing, Editing

final_cut_x

I’ve learned so much about editing and Final Cut Pro this semester interning at NPACE and taking Video Production I with Chris Robinson, director of NPACE. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I did video production in high school, so I have shooting and editing experience coming in. Interning at NPACE has only increased my knowledge and hone my skills even more.

Editing The Server has been one of my duties this semester. While editing, my job is to listen for references to video games, movies, books/comic books, or whatever else they talk about and add a logo or interesting picture in. It is slightly harder than it sounds. Not knowing about half of what the hosts talk about, I was having to guess and research what logos and pictures I was using. For example, World of Warcraft apparently made a tribute to Robin Williams in their ‘universe.’ I felt that the topic was important enough to have a picture, so I had to find out what the tribute was, what it looked like, and then had to find a good picture of it to add to the project timeline.

I’ve also learned better shooting techniques. I have definitely learned to frame my shots–head room, lead room, and variety of shots and angles–better and control the lighting and audio more efficiently. I can tell the difference between footage I filmed a year or two ago and now; that’s awesome!

Overall, very productive and educational semester!

Leave a Reply

