Filming at Legacy

Filming at Legacy Hall

Filming at Legacy Hall

Thursday night I had the unique opportunity to film a student concert in the beautiful Legacy Hall located in the River Center. We were a team of four, working with three cameras to capture the performance from the front, left, and right.

We were lucky in that we were able to use NPACE’s brand new Sony 4K Handycams for this shoot. I had never used them before, but they proved to be pretty awesome. They were very intuitive; the picture looked great and only required minor adjustments to the ISO and focus.

I was located at stage right in the balcony, looking down over most of the performers. My job was to film the left half of the stage. It was a relatively easy shoot, but surprisingly fun. We set up our cameras, let them roll, and adjusted the shot as the performers came and went between pieces.

What I most enjoyed about this shoot was the music, honestly. We really do have some awesome, dedicated musicians at Columbus State’s Schwob! I was aware that CSU students had the opportunity to go to these concerts for free, but I just never took much interest in them or tried to find out when they were. Well, I was missing out!

Legacy Hall in the River Center

Legacy Hall in the River Center

Having grown up going to my sister’s orchestra concerts, and later my own, I always enjoyed instrumental music. I haven’t been around it much the last few years, however. Filming this concert reawakened my interest in this type of music, so I have already volunteered to film more concerts in the future. Hopefully I’ll get to use the Sony cameras again, too!

Leave a Reply

