My First Week At The Gardens by William Ginn

logo

This semester, I have the privilege to intern with the Columbus Botanical Gardens (CBG). Although I do not know much about all the communication work that is involved with nonprofits, I will be able to explain all the work I am doing to assist this semester.

To begin, I have been asked to raise awareness for the walking/running trail located at the Gardens. For many individuals this trail is a well kept secret even from those who live immediately in the area. I have begun this journey by reaching out to local business’ trying to see if they need a trail for classes or activities that they hold. I will also assist CBG with the construction of a new website. The website currently in use has been an upheld by an outside source, and CBG wants to bring that job back to them. I also have been intrusted to run all social media for the Gardens and also find new social media in order to reach a broader audience and raise awareness of CBG entirely.

I am very excited to begin this journey working with the Gardens and hopefully I can become an asset in all areas. I know that as time passes communication tools will be added to my skills. I plan on tackling each of these tasks one at a time and I have already began the research into which business’ could use a trail and reaching out to them.

Hopefully at the end of this journey I will be able to look back and see how much I have grown, but either way I am very excited to begin and make a difference.

Leave a Reply

