Back to the Editing Grind

Final Cut Pro

Final Cut Pro

Once again I find myself being sucked back into the world of video editing. Don’t get me wrong, I love editing. I enjoy its intricacies and precision and artistic quality, but I never imagined myself back in the editing seat.

During high school, I was in a magnet program centered around mass media. We were required to take classes in speech, journalism, video production, marketing, and related areas. My main focus then was content creation, writing, and video editing for our weekly school news production. Just four years later, I am in the same position.

During my intern hours yesterday, I was asked to help edit audio for the in-house show, IntoColumbus. This wasn’t exceptionally difficult, but I enjoyed going through each clip, adjusting audio levels, checking which mic produced the best quality audio for each speaker, and cutting out stray and disrupting background noise.

I have to say, I think I may have missed my chair in the editing room these last few years.

Leave a Reply

