WLTZ: Learning Opportunity

WLTZ staff and I

I have just started interning at WLTZ a couple of weeks ago and it has been awesome! The first week I just observed what was going on. Observing was not just “watching us, until we need something,” it was so much to observe, it is amazing to be able to see first hand what is going on behind the scenes.

Mainly what I have been doing at WLTZ is helping with the 11’oclock news and Football Nightly Down South. Unlike most of the students currently interning during the day, I intern at night because both of these programs take place at nighttime. Currently I have been helping with the set, which consist of moving other existing sets around positioning cameras and making sure every little detail is correct. This is because something that is not as noticeable in person is extremely noticeable on camera.

This past night I was taught how to create some of the graphics that appear on the screen during the broadcast. It is always fun to see the things that you learn in school come in handy; I was able to quickly grasp the concept of the program because of a similar concept I had learned in my interactive media class at CSU.

So far I have learned a lot from all the members for the nighttime shows and they have been extremely welcoming and patient with me and I cant wait to see what the future holds for learning experiences that I am sure to receive!

 

 

Leave a Reply

