First Day at NPACE

432133_421916261188679_648020146_n

Last Friday began the first day of my internship at the Non-Profit and Civic Engagement Center here at Columbus State. I was given a few options of organizations to partner with for this internship, but decided on NPACE because of the close ties to both non-profits and the community at large.

As an intern at NPACE, I really wasn’t sure what I would be doing. Radio? Television? General video production? I had no clue! Dr. Gibson–Department Chair of the Communications Department–had something in mind for me, surprisingly. Once she found out that I enjoy writing and that I work in the University Writing Center at CSU, she jumped at the opportunity, encouraging me to offer my services for script writing, story boarding, and any other writing-related needs the staff at NPACE might have.

After meeting with Chris Robinson, Director of NPACE, we decided my talents could best be used on one of our current projects: The Sue Marie and Bill Turner Servant Leadership Award. This award is given annually to a couple who embody true servant leadership–building a loving and supportive community in order to share the love of Christ and help heal the brokenness of others.

The Arbor Bowl

The Arbor Bowl by Ed Branson

The award comes in the form of a beautiful glass blown bowl, called The Arbor Bowl, created by glass artist Ed Branson. The bowl symbolizes the Living Water that Jesus spoke of when conversing with the woman at the well. The couple that receives this award each year has shown how they spread this living water in our community through their service to and love of others.

I’m honored to have the opportunity to write some of the content for the video we will be producing about this year’s recipients. I have begun to read about their contributions to our community in the short bio I received today and am astounded at the love and commitment they have shown to those in need. Just a few examples are nearly thirty years of service to Meals on Wheels and involvement in a ministry serving widows. This couple is truly amazing.

This project is already showing me that I made the right choice by picking NPACE to do my internship with. Let’s hope it only gets better from here!

Leave a Reply

