Columbus Area Habitat for Humanity- That’s A Wrap!- Anna Justice

Is it really my final post as an intern for Habitat?

This has been such a wonderful experience, and I have been blessed to be able to learn from such wonderful people at Habitat. It has flown by. I decided I would share my top three  favorite moments and/or things I’ve learned here to wrap up what’s been a great internship.

1) Firstly, the entire Habitat staff has been awesome to work with. I’ve loved getting to see all the different aspects that go into making Habitat run smoothly.

From our Executive Director to our Construction Manager to the Volunteer Coordinator, I have loved the relationships I’ve been able to build with all of these talented people.

More specifically, I am so thankful for the time I’ve been able to learn from Laura Ann Mann, CAHFH’s Resource Development Manager being that she was my main contact throughout this semester. She is incredibly smart, talented, kind, and creative. Not only did she get me a present on Valentine’s Day and bring me sweet treats to work all the time, she taught me valuable lessons that are critical in Communication, such as building strong relationships with those in the community, managing and creating creative content on social media, and developing great interpersonal skills. She’s taught me so much, and I’m grateful.

My Valentine's treat from Laura Ann Mann. Yes, it really does say you're all that in a bag of chips. So sweet!

My Valentine’s treat from Laura Ann Mann. Yes, it really does say you’re all that in a bag of chips. So sweet!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Outreach at Midland Chick-Fil-A with Laura Ann.

Community Outreach at Midland Chick-Fil-A with Laura Ann.

 

 

 

 

 

2) Through Financial Peace University, being at the construction site on the weekends, and seeing them some in the office, I’ve loved getting to know the Habitat partner families. It’s been so much fun getting to know them and build homes together.

Laying shingles with some Habitat partner familes!

Laying shingles with some Habitat partner families on a Saturday!

3) I have loved the community involvement I’ve been able to witness through Habitat. With Laura Ann taking me under her wing, I have been able to visit the Dee Armstrong show, attend the Bar  Association luncheon, go along with Laura Ann to the “Unity With Pam” show, assist with Collegiate Challenge, our A Feathered Affair annual fundraiser, and so much more.  I couldn’t have picked a better internship. Thank you CAHFH for such a great experience.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

