Being a Student Journalist – Jake Hall – Sports Information Department

  Cravens (2)

   I have spent most of my time doing small projects, but nothing too big. I have ran scoreboard for some baseball/softball games. I was informed that we will be working a golf tournament at Calloway Gardens! I am not sure what I will be doing yet, but it is pretty cool. I have been working hard for the Saber as well lately.

My latest article was on the upcoming retirement of Rick Cravens. Cravens is the Assistant Director of Outdoor adventures. He orchestrates and coordinates events that students can partake in such as skydiving, rafting, and hiking. One of his top achievements was getting the student recreation center approved, designed and built. He pitched the idea for years before it was approved. That’s right, the big, fancy building across from the Lumpkin Center was the brain child of Cravens. He has spent thirty years as the Director of Intramural Sports and will retire at the end of July.

As for the Saber itself, it has a new website. It is still being configured and upgraded but it does not look that bad. It can be found here. We also voted for a new Editor-in-Chief. We will find out the results of the election shortly, but that is exciting. I have two more issues left this semester so it is time to finish strong.

Leave a Reply

