Northside High School – Red Cross – Jo Garrison

For two weeks I visited with five high schools in the Columbus, GA area.  At four of the high schools during the lunch periods I was able to set up a visual presentation and speak with student as they approached me to inquiry about my presentation.  Doing these presentations, I found which  techniques  do and don’t work when trying to communicate  to a group of people who are not completely focused on the presenter.  Bold colors really catches a person’s attention and promotes the presenter.  Even your stance could either welcome attention or come off as un-approachable.  I found it better to stand and be ready to interact when a person approaches the best way to appear professional when trying to promote yourself, or a product, or in this case a service.

garrison_jo 3

Of the five schools, one of them invited Services to the Armed Forces, to come out and speak to the individual classes for the day.  I was selected to do the classroom presentation and immensely enjoyed the opportunity.  I was able to present to 18, high school, science classes and really felt it was a great opportunity to practice my presentation skills.  When giving the first couple of speeches I felt a little bit nervous but as the day went on I warmed up very quickly. Next thing I knew I was feeling more and more connection with my targeted audience and at the end of the day I was told I received a very high response and level of interest.

northside

At the end of the two weeks I was really grateful to be able to use these opportunities to build my communication skills and am really looking forward to my future as a communication major.

Leave a Reply

