Hudson Thompson – NPACE

I’ve been in this department for 4 and a half years and when mentioning NPACE, obviously I am asked what is NPACE and what kind of work does this center produce? I simply answer with “service learning” to both questions. You, as a student, are able to take what you’ve learned in the classroom and apply it in real life situations (this could apply to audio and/or video work while also working with nonprofit organizations at the same time)! One notable aspect of NPACE that is not being taken advantage of often is that the NPACE center is open to anyone, you do not have to simply be a student. Any and everyone is allowed and welcomed into the center to partake in some of the activities or to simply sit and hang out!

cropped-npacelogo800x166px72ppi_srgb.jpg

So far this week I have soundproofed a room that is used for voice-over work that used to echo pretty terribly. But, now thanks to the acoustic foam I put up under the watchful eye of my friend and mentor, Matt Gay…

photo

… there is no more echo. The sound has been deadened completely! Before working here at NPACE I had never put up acoustic foam, but now I can say that I do have some experience in that, which is awesome!

We’ll see what all I can get into in the next few weeks to come! Possibly some editing and some camera training and use. Whatever it is, I’m sure it will be interesting.

photo(1)…a learning experience, at least!

Leave a Reply

