Jennifer Therrien – Time for Art

The past week has been spent on preparation for Time for Art. This is an event hosted by the Young Professionals. The event is part volunteer fair, part silent auction, and part night on the town. The event was November 7th in the Corn Center for the Visual Arts beginning at 6PM with a mix and mingle and a silent auction beginning at 7PM. This gives a chance for all the Young Professionals in the area to come together and get to know one another at such an exciting event. Not only were you able to mingle with other Young Professionals in the area, but you were able to give back to the community and get some fantastic artwork out of it.

One of the things I did for the event was to  call some of the Young Professionals to make sure they were aware of the event and to welcome them to YP! I was scared at first to talk to people on the phone, but by the 5th call I had the hang of it. It was interesting to talk to some of the YPs and hear how excited they were for this event.

The next thing I worked on for Time for Art were posters, bid sheets, and post cards. I had to create a poster for each agency that would be at Time for Art. For example, I created posters for Boys and Girls Club, United Way, PAWS Humane, and those are just a few. These posters had to contain all of their contact information on them. Next, I worked on the bid sheets. This was a lot more difficult than I thought. I used publisher and this is not one of my strong points. I had to get the hang of what I was creating and put it together. My next task was to create post cards so that people at the event could take something with them. I created these post cards on PowerPoint.

When it was time to print everything I ran into some bumps. I ended up having to redesign the bid sheets and edit the posters because nothing was going as planned. It was frustrating but at the same time I learned how much hard work and effort goes into something so small.

Can’t wait to see what’s in store next!

photo 1 p

Leave a Reply

