Jasmine Jones – Great Start at WTVM News Leader 9

photo(25)After a great Spring semester at WTVM, I decided that I would like to pursue the career in reporting.  I enjoyed that aspect of the news station and it has been a great learning experience so far!! The last two weeks I have learned so much and I believe I am getting the hang of the news room and the steps taken to produce a story.  I have been able to go out with Curtis McCloud and assist him with stories while I have the chance to build my own reel, so that I can have my experiences on tape.  Recently, I learned how to do a live shot on your own with a backpack, and it is something new and innovative within the broadcasting world and I was glad I was able to learn the ropes of a live shot.  Last week Mayor Teresa Tomlinson had an open forum and Curtis McCloud had a live shot there for the 6:00pm show.  Not only is this showing me technical skills, but also I am networking and learning to be kindly aggressive to get what you want in your show.  I am looking forward to a great semester and I am excited for the opportunities to come!

photo(26)photo(24)

Leave a Reply

