Jennifer Therrien – My first week!

Well, last week was  my first week at the Columbus, Ga, Chamber of Commerce. I will be working with Amy Bryan as she mentors me throughout the semester. My first day I was introduced to everyone including CEO Mike Gaymon. I then got a tour of the old train station. They showed me where all the board rooms are and what kind of meetings were held there. It  made me really excited to get the opportunity to sit in on some of the board meetings that will be held there. I got to sit in on a Monday morning meeting and see what everyone was going to be doing this week. I got a feel of how the Chamber is ran and all the different events that go along with the Chamber.

One of the things I was most excited about was the fact that I got my own cubicle/office, I also received my very own email.

My first big assignment as the intern at the Chamber of Commerce was to write an article about the history of the chamber for a magazine titled “Lady Illustrious.” I was excited and nervous at the same time to be able to write something for a publication!

Another exciting experience for me was I got to go with Amy to attend a presentation at the Coca-Cola Space Science Center in the Omni Theater. I was able to listen to Janeen, Amy, and Chris Woodruff speak on behalf of the Chamber and Young Professionals. It was a great opportunity and I cant’t wait to take part in other exciting meetings.

I’m not sure what’s next at the Chamber but I am pretty sure I am going to enjoy whatever I do there. I am looking forward to my semester at the Chamber!

chamber

Leave a Reply

