Franchesca Renfroe -The BET Awards! … 7 1/2 Hours??

This was my first year watching the BET Awards as a press agent and not as a regular spectator. I definitely saw a huge difference between the two. EricaVain.com had a completely new look especially for the awards show, since we were expecting higher traffic that night. We were even streaming the awards live from the site so people could watch them online! The team and I were in the newsroom.

BETAwardsI made sure to have the coffee brewing because I knew it was going to be a long night. As soon as the awards show started I was assigning performances for people to cover. Then we had exclusive backstage footage to cover that our boss was sending us from LA. On top of that, we had to cover people’s looks at the awards show red carpet. Throughout the awards show I had to keep track of the winners and anything new that may have premiered during the show.

I was able to glance at what was going on every now-and-then, but in all honesty I didn’t see the entire show. I saw the highlight of performances, and who won each award, but that was about it. Once the award show was over, the work was not done. We were up working to get information out about the winners. We had to move quickly because timing was crucial. Then after all of that I went and wrote the articles for the movie premieres previews that happened during the show. By the time I was done, it was 3:30am. And It had been a whopping 7 1/2 hours to cover the awards show. If I didn’t have to work so late at my other job it would’ve been 10 hours. Whew! It was still a fun experience!

One thought on “Franchesca Renfroe -The BET Awards! … 7 1/2 Hours??

Leave a Reply

