Cory Veal- My internship Experience

This semester I had the pleasure of interning at two locations, the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Chattahoochee Valleys’s administration office and the NPACE center. I was able to experience the world of public relations at a non profit organization and the world of media production at the NPACE center.

At the NPACE center I was able to place myself back into media productions. I have always had a passion for television production and to have been placed to work in the NPACE center I was able to increase that passion.  I was constantly around equipment and media related conversations. I also updated myself with the recent Final Cut Pro X, In design and adobe Photoshop.

One major task I had in the NPACE center was being on hand for the need of on-air written material. I was able to be apart of the NPACE centers grand launch by writing several PSAs that aired that day. I was also on hand for the day’s activities as well. I then wrote intros/ outros for the Artbeat radio event and even more PSAs focusing on specific events taking place during Artbeat 2013.

Over at the Boys & Girls Clubs, I expressed my passion for writing once again with assisting with Press Releases. I was able to write a couple of press releases, with one landing in the Ledger Enquirer. I am very pleased with accomplishing that task and being able to fulfill my duties at the office as well. I was also involved in helping plan the Youth of the Year Celebration at the Boys & Girls Clubs. There I was able to see the other side of PR work as far as planning an event that will not only benefit internal parties but help with the outside public’s view on the organization as well.

Both of my internships were an exciting experience and I am really appreciative of the real world experience I was able to obtain.

NPACE

Leave a Reply

