Jasmine Jones – Learning the Marketing side of News Broadcasting

This week I was open to another side of the news station as I was introduced to Brian Correll, the marketing director of WTVM.  I was at awe in everything that goes through that department of the news station in order for the news to even get on air as well as the commercials.  I learned how to place logos on commercials for the station, which was interesting because that is not something I think about while watching television.  The marketing department deals a lot of ads and clients in order to earn revenue for the station.  I also got a chance to speak with the editors who make the commercials as they told me how extensive the commercials can be compared to others.  This was a great learning experience because I had no idea everything that entailed within the marketing department.

wtvm pic marketing wtvm marketing pic 2

Leave a Reply

