Dan Quigley – Opening of NPACE, Trip to the Capitol, and The YOGC

With the official launch of NPACE center last week, the communication department is stepping into the next chapter of its history. I spent the majority of the day showing visitors our Tricaster-based video studio and everyone was shocked to find out that technology of this caliber was located in the bottom of the Carpenter’s Building. With our radio and TV studio’s, the communication department is going to be able to reach far and wide across the region and even the globe as we stream online as well.

IMG_3057

Laterika Peak and Latisha Francis at the Georgia Capitol

It seems that everywhere I go now it is inevitable that I will run into a communication major doing something to help contribute to the University and the community. A couple of weeks ago, I was one of many communication majors who traveled to the capitol to help show legislators why we are such a good institution. Hopefully, my fellow peers won’t mind me posting this picture I took of them up at the Capitol Building. It’s just such a good picture that I had to share.
Another place you can find Communication majors these days is at CSU TV up on main campus where I am doing part of my internship. While I don’t personally have any pictures from recently in the studio, I’m sure you can see one from Mark’s post this week. He and many other Communication majors have been helping us at CSU TV develop some student programing, something that I’ve been waiting a long time for. We hope to have shows that talk about student issues, deliver news to people on campus, and share some of the exciting things that go on at Columbus State University. My role thus far has been that of the technical situation. I’ve been making sure everything is working properly, looking good, and sounding clear. This week we had our first recording on student issues. Every week we’re making a little more progress towards the student programing of our University.

One last thing I should mention is the project in Roger Hart’s video production II class. I have been helping with the filming of a documentary on the Youth Orchestra of Greater Columbus. Last Saturday, we filmed their side-by-side performance with the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. It was such an experience to be in the Bill Heard Theater and get to hear talented musicians of all ages play. So far we have gotten a LOT of good material and I am really excited to see how the documentary turns out at the end of the semester.

Leave a Reply

