Charissee McKee-Archiving

As things have calmed down a little bit from the NPACE center launch, I have found myself helping wherever it is needed. I had to do a lot of file work yesterday, but today I was able to get a little taste of video production.

As I was watching the videos, I realized it takes a lot of work when you are trying to produce a solid video. It is more than just pointing the camera. You have to worry about lighting, angles and just overall trying to get a good shot. Editing is very time consuming. You worry about if you want something to fade in or out, what needs to be taken out and what is good footage. Today, I helped archiveĀ  footage of the Youth Orchestra. It was very time consuming. Every Wednesday I intern from 9:30 am to 1:30 pm and archiving took up most of my time today. I will have to say it taught me to be patient. I thought that it would not take that long, but I learned that it actually archives in real time, minute by minute. Most of the footage was from about 35- 60 minutes long.

archiving

I would be interested in taking video production I after I had a little taste of it today. I am really looking forward to seeing what those students produce for Artbeat this year, which is going to be a pretty busy time for communication students ad the NPACE center. I would love to be of some help ,as well as learn the gist of video production. I want to know about the different angles and lighting. Also, I want know how you can make your video run smoothly. All of these techniques would have been helpful last semester, but I would still like to learn more about video production.

Leave a Reply

